APC Appoints Usman Ododo and Ovie Omo-Agege to Oversee Ondo Governorship Primary

Kogi State Governor, Ahmed Ododo Kogi State Governor, Ahmed Ododo

The ruling All Progressives Congress has appointed Usman Ododo, the governor of Kogi State, and Ovie Omo-Agege, the former deputy president of the Senate, to oversee this Saturday’s Ondo governorship primary election.

Daily Stand Nigeria reported that the seven-member Primary Election Committee, chaired by Ododo and with Omo-Agege as secretary, will manage the shadow poll.

Other members include Iyiola Oladokun, a former deputy governor of Oyo; Senator Lekan Mustapha; Adefunmilayo Tejuoso; Margaret Duru; and Dr. Sani Danjuma.

The committee’s task is to conduct a direct primary in each of the state’s eighteen local government districts to select the party’s nominee for governor in November 2024.

On Saturday, six aspirants will vie for the one available ticket, including Lucky Aiyedatiwa, the current governor; Jimoh Ibrahim, a business magnate and senator from the Ondo South district; Olusola Oke, a senior advocate in Nigeria; Prof. Francis Faduyile, a former president of the Nigerian Medical Association; Dr. Funmi Waheed-Adekojo, a mechanical engineer; and Isaac Kekemeke, the vice chairman of the APC National (South West).

Additionally, Gen. Ohunyeye Olamide, Morayo Lebi, Garvey Oladiran Iyanjan, Ifeoluwa Oyedele, Akinfolarin Samuel, Okunjimi Odimayo, Adewale Akinterinwa, and Olugbenga Edema are in the race.

Ondo Guber primary

The APC has also named five additional members of the committee that will handle complaints and appeals after the election.

Mohammed Abubakar, a former governor of Bauchi, chairs the Primary Election Appeal Committee, with Chief Obiocha Israel as secretary.

Other members include Lawmaker Patrick Obahiagbo of Edo, Jamilu Isiyiaka Gwamna, and Chief Onyeka Okafor.

The ruling party issued a brief statement on Thursday announcing that all committee members will assume their roles at 4:00 pm on the same day.